Duke Reporters' Lab

About the Lab

The Reporters’ Lab explores new forms of journalism, including fact-checking, which is growing around the world, empowering democracies and holding governments accountable, and structured journalism, which creates new forms of storytelling and beat reporting.

Team

Bill Adair

Bill Adair is the Knight Professor for the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy at Duke University and the director of the Duke Reporters' Lab. He is the creator of Pulitzer Prize-winning website PolitiFact and worked for 24 years as a reporter and editor at the Tampa Bay Times. He is the author of The Mystery of Flight 427: Inside a Crash Investigation.

bill.adair@duke.edu

BillAdairDuke

Mark Stencel

Mark Stencel is NPR's former managing editor for digital news and co-author of The Goat Must Be Fed, a 2014 Duke Reporters' Lab study on obstacles to newsroom innovation. He previously held senior editing and executive positions at the Washington Post and Congressional Quarterly, and was a reporter for the the News & Observer in Raleigh-Durham, N.C.

mark.stencel@gmail.com

MarkStencel

Rebecca Iannucci

Rebecca Iannucci is the editor and project manager for the Duke Reporters' Lab. An Elon University '14 alumna, she spent two years in Los Angeles as a reporter for TVLine.com, where she wrote and reported on the television industry. She has since relocated to Raleigh with an interest in university communications, marketing and research.

iannucci.rebecca@gmail.com

rebeccaiannucci

Alexios Mantzarlis

Alexios Mantzarlis is the director and editor of the International Fact-Checking Network.

alexios@poynter.org

Mantzarlis

Erica Ryan

Erica Ryan is the project manager for the Share the Facts widget in the Reporters' Lab.

elryan@gmail.com

ericalryan

Hank Tucker

Hank Tucker is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

henry.tucker@duke.edu

hanktucker13

Amanda Lewellyn

Amanda Lewellyn is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

lewellyn.amanda@gmail.com

amanda__af

Julia Donheiser

Julia Donheiser is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

julia.donheiser@duke.edu

JuliaDonheiser

Asa Royal

Asa Royal is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

asa.royal@duke.edu

Sam Turken

Sam Turken is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

sam.turken@duke.edu

SamZTurken