Duke Reporters' Lab

About the Lab

The Reporters’ Lab is a center for journalism research in the Sanford School of Public Policy at Duke University. Our core projects focus on fact-checking, but we also do occasional research about trust in the news media and other topics.

Team

Bill Adair

Bill Adair is the Knight Professor for the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy at Duke University and the director of the Duke Reporters' Lab. He is the creator of Pulitzer Prize-winning website PolitiFact and worked for 24 years as a reporter and editor at the Tampa Bay Times. He is the author of The Mystery of Flight 427: Inside a Crash Investigation.

bill.adair@duke.edu

BillAdairDuke

Mark Stencel

Mark Stencel is NPR's former managing editor for digital news and co-author of The Goat Must Be Fed, a 2014 Duke Reporters' Lab study on obstacles to newsroom innovation. He previously held senior editing and executive positions at the Washington Post and Congressional Quarterly, and was a reporter for the the News & Observer in Raleigh-Durham, N.C.

mark.stencel@gmail.com

MarkStencel

Catherine Clabby

Catherine Clabby is the editor and project manager at Duke Reporters' Lab. She is a longtime journalist who also worked in magazine and book publishing. She covered environmental health for the N.C. Health News and science, medicine, government and politics for the Raleigh News & Observer. She was an MIT Knight Science Journalism Fellow from 2007-2008.

catherine.clabby@duke.edu

cathyclabby

Alexios Mantzarlis

Alexios Mantzarlis is the director and editor of the International Fact-Checking Network.

alexios@poynter.org

Mantzarlis

Erica Ryan

Erica Ryan is the project manager for the Share the Facts widget in the Reporters' Lab.

elryan@gmail.com

ericalryan

Riley Griffin

Riley Griffin is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

riley.griffin@duke.edu

rileygriffin17

Julia Donheiser

Julia Donheiser is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

julia.donheiser@duke.edu

JuliaDonheiser

Daniela Flamini

Daniela Flamini is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

daniela.flamini@duke.edu

diflams

Bill McCarthy

Bill McCarthy is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

william.mccarthy@duke.edu

bill_mccarthy7

Julianna Rennie

Julianna Rennie is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

julianna.rennie@duke.edu

Asa Royal

Asa Royal is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

asa.royal@duke.edu

Lucas Fagan

Lucas Fagan is a student researcher in the Reporters' Lab.

lucas.fagan@duke.edu

Abby Snyder

Abby Snyder is a graduate student in the Sanford School of Public Policy and a research assistant in the Reporters' Lab.

abigail.a.snyder@duke.edu

abigailasnyder