Duke Reporters' Lab

About the Lab

The Reporters’ Lab is a center for journalism research in the Sanford School of Public Policy at Duke University. Our core projects focus on fact-checking, but we also do occasional research about trust in the news media and other topics.

The Lab is funded by the Knight Chair endowment as well as grants from Knight Foundation, the Google News Initiative, the Facebook Journalism Project and Craig Newmark.

Along the way, we’ve worked with many collaborators, including The Washington Post, PolitiFact, FactCheck.org and other fact-checkers; Google, Facebook, YouTube, Schema.org, Jigsaw and other tech organizations; the Bad Idea Factory software development collective; researchers and computer scientists at Duke, the University of Texas at Arlington and Digital Democracy, an initiative of Cal Poly’s Institute for Advanced Technology and Public Policy; the International Fact-Checking Network and more.

Team

Bill Adair

Bill Adair is the Knight Professor for the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy at Duke University and the director of the Duke Reporters' Lab. He is the creator of Pulitzer Prize-winning website PolitiFact and worked for 24 years as a reporter and editor at the Tampa Bay Times. He is the author of The Mystery of Flight 427: Inside a Crash Investigation.

bill.adair@duke.edu

BillAdairDuke

Mark Stencel

Mark Stencel is NPR's former managing editor for digital news and co-author of The Goat Must Be Fed, a 2014 Duke Reporters' Lab study on obstacles to newsroom innovation. He previously held senior editing and executive positions at the Washington Post and Congressional Quarterly, and was a reporter for the the News & Observer in Raleigh-Durham, N.C.

mark.stencel@duke.edu

MarkStencel

Christopher Guess

Christopher Guess is the lead technologist for the Reporters' Lab.

christopher.guess@duke.edu

Erica Ryan

Erica Ryan is the project manager for the Reporters' Lab.

elryan@gmail.com

ericalryan

Joel Luther

Joel Luther is the ClaimReview and MediaReview Research and Outreach Coordinator in the Reporters' Lab.

joel.luther@duke.edu

Asa Royal

Asa Royal is a research associate in the Reporters' Lab.

asa.royal@duke.edu